Hello, World

This is the year.

In 2013, I will quit my job, end my lease, drive all of my worldly possessions across the country for storage at my parents’ house, and travel the world.

My tentative plan is to start in late August, fly to Spain where I will walk the Camino de Santiago, explore Europe for the next few months (Italy, Holland, and Germany are definitely on the short-list… with about 15 other countries vying for the rest of my time and attention), and be settled for a long stay in India by Christmastime. For early 2014, I hope to be avoiding cold weather by heading back to Southeast Asia (shacking up in Indonesia, Thailand, and Vietnam… at the very least), before hightailing it back to the States by July to figure out the rest of my life in time to start paying my health insurance bill again (thanks, Obama!).

I’m planning to buck the system by doing it the leisurely way–hopefully spending a month or so in each country I visit. I’m not really looking to work while I’m gone, but I’m sure there will be many, many children that I instantly fall in love with… and hopefully their parents will trust in my Texas Education Agency teaching certification and let me hang out with them for a while.

Of course, I’m sure my plans will change as I begin hitting you all up for advice, recommendations, and friends of friends (of friends… I have no shame).

But it starts now.

26Q61C5L6RPQB_VTIIU5_PH_P_LS

4 thoughts on “Hello, World

  1. lycheechan

    Ms. Garvey, I do hope you have fun if you actually travel the world. Thailand is beautiful. (Beware of the mafia when you’re in SE Asia.) When you go to Thailand you must explore the nightlife as well as go to Phuket. I enjoyed my vacation there. Indonesia is wonderful. Bali is amazing. I think the best thing to do at these places is volunteer though. The best way to learn about the country is by knowing its people.

    Former student of yours,
    Nguyen

    Reply
    1. Emily Garvey Post author

      Thank you for the advice, Nguyen! I have been to Thailand and Bali before, and I LOVED them both. We are definitely on the same page šŸ™‚ I agree–I would love to volunteer while I’m there. If you have any ideas about specific things I could do, I’d love your suggestions. So far, I was thinking I’d stick to maybe teaching English–but sometimes it’s good to go outside of your comfort zone as well, you know?
      It’s so good to hear from you–it’s been so long!! I hope you are loving high school, and I have no doubt that you’re succeeding in all of your pursuits šŸ™‚

      Reply
      1. lycheechan

        High school is pretty stressful, but I’m grateful for what I am learning at DeBakey. When you’re in Thailand, you have to have a traditional Thai massage. It’s so stress relieving. Of course, the food is amazing, but I am sure that you’re aware of that already.
        I hope you enjoy your travels and that one day I’ll get the chance to travel the world like you will. I hope when I do get the chance that I’m still young and vibrant, not old and crusty.
        Have fun!!! I wish you well!

    2. Emily Garvey Post author

      P.S. I resent your use of the word “if!” I hope I taught you to follow all of your dreams!! šŸ˜›

      Reply

Leave a Reply

